Skip to content

Juliana Valentine McCourt

September 11, 2009
by

Juliana Valentine McCourt was a 4-year-old en route to Disneyland

As the names of the victims scrolled across our television screen on the surreal night of September 11, 2001, one name leapt off the screen and has been embedded since in my mind and heart.  “Juliana Valentine McCourt, age 4, New London, CT, UA Flight 175″.  I had my own little Julianna, 6 months old at the time.

Juliana McCourt was traveling with her mom, Ruth McCourt.  Mrs. McCourt’s own brother, Ronnie Clifford, was working at the WTC but escaped just as the plane carrying his sister and niece struck the South Tower.

Juliana McCourt was born on May 4, 1997.  She attended dance school, which still honors her to this day.  She had no siblings.  Juliana adored her fluffy white terrier, Phoebe.  She was described as smart, sensitive, beautiful, nurturing like her mom.  She never had a first day of Kindergarten.  She never made it to Disneyland.  The only consolation is that she was comforted by her loving mother during those last awful moments.

This is an excerpt of a tribute to Juliana I read on a 9/11 website:

“What I remember most about that terrible day is you … 

my wife and I watched the TV coverage in a dumbstruck stupor. But when CNN scrolled the names and ages of the passengers on the two planes that terrorists turned into bombs, we saw JULIANA VALENTINE McCOURT and both broke down and cried and cried and cried … that day we made a promise to the universe that, if we were ever blessed with a daughter, we would name her after you. In July 2004, our JULIANA VALENTINE T. was born …”
Scott T. 2009-03-31

I’d bet that it was not just Scott T. and myself who were forever touched by Juliana Valentine McCourt, a little girl we never met, yet an angel we mourn and will not forget.

http://www.julianamccourt.org/

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 11:13 am

    Thanks so much for setting up this site to honor so many.

    I have honored Lorraine Antigua at:

    http://www.hideboundblog.com/journal/2009/9/10/project-2996-lorraine-d-antigua.html

  2. September 11, 2009 3:34 pm

    I read a tribute to Juliana’s mom earlier this morning. Reading about the children is the saddest and bitterest pill. Thank you for remembering Juliana. Never forget

  3. September 12, 2009 1:01 am

    What a heart breaker. Thank you for the beautiful tribute to Juliana.

  4. Jennifer Sokol permalink
    September 12, 2009 11:56 pm

    Thank you for your touching tribute to young Juliana.

  5. Julie A. permalink
    May 2, 2011 4:04 am

    May you RIP sweet angel… he got what he deserved…

  6. Guest123456 permalink
    September 8, 2011 11:27 pm

    It’s sad. A young girl that died all cause of his fault.

  7. Penny permalink
    September 11, 2011 5:48 pm

    We had the same experience as some earlier postings . . .I was 6 weeks pregnant when this horrible tragedy occurred . . .as we watched in horror we cried as the story of Juliana Valentine unfolded…we decided that night that if our unborn child was a girl we would name her Juliana…to honor this precious little girl…so in April our daughter Juliana Faith was born…her dad wrote in her baby book…we named you Juliana after a precious little girl who was taken far too soon by evil….and Faith because we have Faith in humanity to overcome this evil….

  8. samantha permalink
    September 12, 2012 5:14 pm

    I will never forget this little girl either, The day that I heard the story of Juliana Valintine Mccourt, I was 7 months pregnant with my daughter(who is almost 11 now) and I was immediatly touched by this story and it also inspired me to name my daughter Julianna, I didnt use the middle name, but her dad who was in the army at the time and his army buddies chose her middle name, Nicole. My daughter feels that she has a very special name and I and others feel the same. I am so amazed at how many other children are named after this precious child. RIP dear child!

Leave a Reply

