Skip to content

Amy O’ Doherty, 8 Years Beyond The Impact

September 11, 2009
by

The task of remembering the life of one beautiful flower among the myriad taken from the garden of humanity on that fateful day is one I’ve approached with  a solemn humility and deep respect. I’m hoping that it serves as both a reminder of the soul that once graced our presence and that whose memory we hold dear enough to one day enjoy again, and an inspiration for anyone reading to live our lives the way Amy would have wanted.

From what I’ve learned, Amy lived a pleasant and and successful youth in Pelham, NY, eventually gaining entrance into St. Bonaventure University. She graduated from there in 2000, and earned a position with Cantor Fitzgerald, an international securities firm with offices in the World Trade Center. What strikes me is the suddenness of which he was taken from us, as she was just beginning a career, with fresh eyes forward and hopes reaching to the stars. An tribute from the New York Times reads:

To Amy O’Doherty, in her first job and apartment, Manhattan’s streets emanated excitement and its air, promise — of new friends and smart conversations over steaks at Morton’s, and of unlimited success. Of what Geraldine Davie, her mother, called “the largeness of life.”

Ms. O’Doherty, 23, loved her job as a broker’s assistant at Cantor Fitzgerald. “Financing, trading, bonds,” said Liz Gallello, a childhood friend. “She wanted to take it – the career, the city woman lifestyle – as far as far it could go.”

She was delighted with her five-story walk-up — so small, said Ms. Davie, that “Lilliputians should live in it.” She filled it with dozens of framed photos of friends from Pelham, N.Y., where she grew up, and from camp, college and work.

“She was soaking up that great New York style,” said Ms. Davie. “Picking up that New York language. She didn’t know it but she was living her bliss.”

I can’t imagine the flood of emotions that runs through Amy’s family and friends always, but especially approaching this, the eighth anniversary of September 11, 2001. I can only offer my prayers and the promise that by taking a look at her life, I have been inspired to work harder to make sure that no one ever forgets what happened on that fateful day.
And I would like to add that while I was pondering her life and the position that her life was in that morning as she commuted to the job in the field that she had honed her skills in, I decided to assume that she had a hopefulness for the future that shone brighter than the stars in the sky from this globe, and that still travels the universe today.

Before I leave the poem written by a friend that I discovered at the site of a previous tribute, I’d like to add my contribution of a Bible verse that I’ve found particularly inspiring on the eve of this occasion, and that will hopefully give some comfort and inspiration to Amy’s loved ones and anyone reading this. I know that Amy has heard it already.

Psalm 42

BOOK II : Psalms 42-72

1

For the director of music. A maskil of the Sons of Korah. [a]

[b] As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, O God.

2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?

3 My tears have been my food
day and night,
while men say to me all day long,
“Where is your God?”

4 These things I remember
as I pour out my soul:
how I used to go with the multitude,
leading the procession to the house of God,
with shouts of joy and thanksgiving
among the festive throng.

5 Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and 6 my God.
My [c] soul is downcast within me;
therefore I will remember you
from the land of the Jordan,
the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar.

7 Deep calls to deep
in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
have swept over me.

8 By day the LORD directs his love,
at night his song is with me—
a prayer to the God of my life.

9 I say to God my Rock,
“Why have you forgotten me?
Why must I go about mourning,
oppressed by the enemy?”

10 My bones suffer mortal agony
as my foes taunt me,
saying to me all day long,
“Where is your God?”

11 Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.

A poem by friend Diane Huggins:

Just as the sunflowers you loved you were bright and cheery in every way,
You loved your colleges and your job that was well displayed.
You had a kind, generous heart that never strayed.
You felt life should be savored not just lived from day to day.
A master disciplinarian with both gentleness and firmness conveyed.
You were always smiling and laughing just a beautiful person surveyed.
You had a great sense of humor, upbeat so full of fun and play.
You implanted heart prints on many hearts that love will never stray.
Shopping for yourself and your mother was always a great thrill and okay.
If mom Geraldine wanted something you indulged her without delay.
You were happy when mom accepted your gifts, they were like beautiful bouquets.
You were and forever are her precious daughter, a true gift of love so to say.
Beloved sister to Maura you shared a close friendship so fine,
you continue to guide her with your spirit of love that is very well defined.
Loving daughter to James he misses the times you intertwined,
He sees your love living on in each twinkling star that brightly shines.
There is a beautiful star in Heaven that to him alone has been assigned.
You live on in your family forever dwelling in their hearts and minds.
you’re their guardian angel and their greatest hero and gift divine.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 3:26 am

    Thank you for your tribute-Amy will not be forgotten.

  2. September 11, 2009 4:30 pm

    So young. So many of the souls we lost … so young. Thank you for remembering Amy O’Doherty.

  3. TL Wilson permalink
    October 17, 2009 3:09 am

    Thank you for remembering Amy O’Doherty, a rising star.

  4. David Raphael O'Doherty permalink
    September 11, 2011 9:57 pm

    Watched tv coverage all day from New York , to-day on 10th anniversary at home in Belfast Ireland. My heart goes out to all the victims, so many with Irish names, with numerous connections to NYPD & NYFD. The 9/11 waterfall memorial reflects the torrent of tears from the four corners of the world falling into the two pits that can never be filled. Hope springs eternal from the well of despair.
    May God bless all relatives & friends – may He give you the strength to forgive the perpetrators in due time. I didn’t know Amy but I have 3 daughters in their twenties who have their whole lives in front of them & Amy’s was tragically cut short, contrary to natural justice, and Christian & Islamic laws and values.
    God Bless.

Leave a Reply

